Runner Runner

Know when to walk away.

ddRichie (Justin Timberlake) a Princeton grad student takes a gamble online to try and get enough money to pay off his uni fees, however after he gets swindled into losing everything he decided to pack up and go to Costa Rica to confront online gambling tycoon Ivan Block (Ben Affleck).

Where do I start with this film, well it’s not what I expected from the trailer that for sure. The film tends to drag in certain places and it’s basically a predictable thriller.

Justin Timberlake is not that great in the film and that’s a shame because I do actually like him as an actor, he’s done some good films in my eyes such as “In Time”, “Social Network” and “Alpha Dog” to name a few. In fact I thought JT was the only good thing in “Alpha Dog” but I won’t get into that now.

Ben Affleck saved this film for me I enjoyed seeing him as the “bad guy” and he actually played it well, however I’m not going to lie throughout the film every time I saw him all I could think is “So this is the new batman?” but I digress, I honestly thought that the film was ok, could have been better and very forgettable.

I thought Gemma Arterton was wasted in this film they could of easily just put some random model instead of her because really she was just eye candy in the film and that’s all.

I’m not saying this is the worst film of the year (“Spring Breakers” unfortunately got my vote for that) but it’s definitely not the best. It’s ok if you have nothing to do one evening and what to watch something but not a film to go flocking to the cinema for, my verdict wait for it to come out on DVD and give it a rent.

Rating 3/10

By Fiaz Ali

Leave a Reply

