The Summer That Was 2013

freebies-music-vectors-summer-song

I have to say I have been spoiled as a music fan this summer. Each genre brought out enjoyable music which received constant spins on my iPod which became my soundtrack of the summer. What I was originally going to do was do a playlist that had the theme of summer. Due to timing and a busy schedule I was unable to complete it and I didn’t want to rush this playlist…..So I decided to do the top songs of the summer. Now you probably heard these songs EVERYWHERE, so here is your chance to hear it once more and reminisce on what was a great summer for music….ENJOY!

Naughty Boy Featuring Sam Smith-La La

One of the produces who has contributed to the new dance renaissance as of late is producer Naughty Boy. This is his biggest hit to date and from the first listen you could tell this would be a hit. A catchy chorus with a killer sample, not to mention vocals from Sam Smith (LOOK OUT FOR HIM) that complement the song nicely. From what I’ve heard Naughty Boy may have the next great U.K. album on his hands.

Disclosure Featuring AlunaGeorge-White Noise

The dance wave continues with this talented duo who team up with vocalist Aluna Francis to produce a song to get any warehouse wave going. I need to hear this at a neon rave to fully enjoy this.

Rudimental Featuring Ella Eyre-Waiting All Night

I had this song at the start of my running sessions for the past 2 months. This song is a motivator, whether to help you wake up in the morning, to help you step up the pace on your last lap or to go crazy on the beat drop with your friends while raving, this song will up the ante when needed. On a side note the video is awesome, probably the most watched video of the summer next to another song on this list.

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis Featuring Ray Dalton-Can’t Hold Us

How do you follow a hot song that is a candidate for song of the year? Follow it up with another hot song!!! Cant Hold Us Down is epic from beginning to end (Those trumpets go IN!!!) if you love both Thrift Shop & Cant Hold Us you will definitely love their album which is refreshing body of work from the indies. A win-win situation for the artist and the fans.

Bruno Mars-Treasure

1) Where did Bruno and his band get their suits from, because I want one? 2) I want to dance like Bruno and his band in this video…with that out the way I loved this song before the video came out which made me love the song more. I love it when the artist of today make songs that have that vintage feel to it that could of been played way back when. Bruno does this perfectly, quality always wins.

Justin Timberlake-Tunnel Vision/Take Back the Night

JT has had an amazing year so far, every song he has released so far this year is listed right near the top of my favourite JT songs ever. As far as singles are concerned the right songs from the 20/20 experience have been released. It started with Suit & Tie, followed by Mirrors and then we had Tunnel vision. Great production by Timberland that is reminiscent of his production during his days producing for Aaliyah. Take Back the Night is a great choice to kick off his second half of the 20/20 Experience. A nice groove for you to get your grown man/woman on to. Perfect for those warm summer nights. Take Back the Night? JT took back the summer.

Calvin Harris Featuring Ellie Goulding- I need your love

one of my favourite singers with one of my favourite produces. This song sounds like it was made to be played on the raving islands. Play this at a foam party and jump up when the beat breaks.

Robin Thicke Featuring Pharell Williams & T.I. – blurred lines

Ok I heard this song EVERYWHERE, I saw this video EVERYWHERE. I’m not going to lie I thought the song was ok at first….then it grew on me. This is a great party starter. A great song for Robin Thicke to start off his album campaign with. Be sure to get your shuffle on like T.I. in the video.

Daft Punk Featuring Pharell Williams- Get Lucky

This group can never do no wrong. Every time Draft Punk drops a project the results are excellent and this album is no exception. Random Access Memories is an accumulation of previous draft punk works with a fresh twist. An example of this is get lucky. Who knew a collaboration with Pharell would work wonders.

Fuse ODG – Antenna

Ok I’ am very picky when it comes afro beats. Some song I like or even love and some I would just nod to or skip. Some friends try to convince me a song is good and I am open minded. Atenna..I like from the moment I heard it I knew it would blow up and it did. Yes I did try to azonto to this song *covers head in shame*.

Avicii Featuring Aloe Blacc -Wake Me Up

This song came right at the end of the summer and in good timing to cap off a great season of music, dance music in particular. A trend I like is great vocalists jumping on dance songs resulting in great music. Insert Aloe Blacc who made this track his own and killed it. Who would have thought these two would make magic? I love it when a plan comes together.

Because this is a late post i added a few extras ENJOY…Peace!

Jakwob – Fade ft. Maiday

Chris Malinchak – So Good To Me

Disclosure – You & Me ft. Eliza Doolittle

http://youtu.be/W_vM8ePGuRM

JAY Z-Picasso Baby

Kanye West – BLKKK SKKKN HEAD

Miguel- How Many Drinks? (Remix) ft. Kendrick Lamar

Drake- Started From The Bottom

By Jahmar

Leave a Reply

