The Conjuring

Want to play a game of hide and clap?

Conjuring_Online_Art_INTLJust came back from watching The Conjuring, for the first time I tried something, I saw a poster for a film and thought “Yeah Ill watch it” but without seeing any of its promos of trailers. Admittedly it was a different experience, really didn’t know what to expect. The Conjuring is a horror film which is based on a true story.

Set in 1971, Carolyn and Roger Parren move their family into a dilapidated farm house in Rhode Island. Soon weird and creepy events start to occur which escalate into what could only be described as a nightmare. Desperate Carolyn contacts Ed and Lorraine Warren, paranormal investigators to check out the house. The Warren’s discover that the entire area is haunted, to stop this evil they must use all their skills and spiritual strength.

First of all horror movies are like marmite you either like em or hate em. Personally I’m not a big fan of them mainly because most of them aren’t scary. 2 of the most recent horror films I’ve seen which have been the cause of some sleepless nights were “Paranormal Activity” and “Sinister”. Now I do believe in ghosts etc and have seen some supernatural stuff myself, I feel that’s why “Paranormal Activity” hit me hard, mainly because I’ve seen some of the stuff that was shown in the film in real life. Sinister creped me out big time! But that being said I’ve got friends who find these films boring or laughable. This is why I say horror films are like marmite.

As I said above I went in the film knowing nothing at all, all I had seen was its movie poster. Originally I thought it was all about the doll, kind of like “Chucky” or “Dead Silence” but I was wrong. After seeing the film I personal say it’s a decent film, it didn’t scare me but it was a good film definitely worth a watch. There was one part where I went “Fu*k that”. I’ve heard people complain about the story and the ending, I didn’t find anything wrong with either, bare in mind this is based on a true story, the acting was decent as well as the narrative.

Like I keep saying what I find scary you might not so I’d say give The Conjuring a watch maybe you like it maybe you don’t, but give it a chance.

Rating 5/10

By Fiaz Ali

Leave a Reply

