The Purge

Reminder all emergency services will be suspended for a 12-hour period during the purge.

?????????????????????????????What is The Purge? For one night a year (for a 12 hour period) all crime including murder is legal and all emergency services are suspended. In return the rest of the year is crime free. The Purge is used to “cleanse” the soul and release any pent up anger or rage.  Sounds like a good concept right?

James Sandin (Ethan Hawke) sells and sets up security systems and has become the number one sales rep, on the night of the annual purge his son lets in a stranger who is hurt and screaming for help, this act of kindness results in the Sandin family fighting for their lives, as the stranger is actually being hunted down by a group of men and women.

I found out about this film through my mate who kept talking about it, I thought the concept was brilliant, then I finally checked out the trailer and although it didn’t look as good as I thought it was going to be I still thought I’d give it a go.

I love the concept I really do and I thought the film could be a classic such as “The Matrix” or “Equilibrium” but instead we got an average movie.

The scripts was bad, I mean the dialog is terrible, very unrealistic and sometimes forced, this of course lead to some bad performances. I like Ethan Hawke I think he’s a good actor with films such as “Training Day” and “Brooklyn’s Finest”, but this was possibly his worst films and its down to the dialog. That’s my biggest problem with this film.

If there was a decent script then no doubt the film would have been better. The other thing I thought could of made the film better was possibly seeing a bit of the “Madness” that was going on, It’s a night where all crime is legal, I’m expecting looting, murder, rape etc. we didn’t see any of that, there was a nice bit of voice over work on the credits that showed some of the “Madness” but I felt we should of seen it during the movie to understand how bad thing are during the 12 hour purge.

Personally I would say give The Purge a miss and maybe rent it or wait for it to come on TV, Not worth the cinema ticket.

Rating 2/10

By Fiaz Ali

Leave a Reply

