Spring Breakers

Spring Break, bitches

images (1)Spring breakers follows 4 teenage girls, Brit (Ashley Benson), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens), Cotty (Rachel Korine) and Faith (Selena Gomez) who have been best friends since school. They live together in a college dorm, do the same thing each day and are bored to death of it, so they plan to go to spring break in search of adventure, they meet Alien (James Franco) at spring break who provides all the adventure and excitement they need for the rest of their life.

First let me start by saying I was really looking forward to this film, after seeing the trailer I thought the film had so much potential. After finally seeing the film I can safely say that potential was squandered. I literally wasted 1 hour and 33 mins of my life watching this… thing!

Firstly I’ll say that the acting is awful, Plot is pretty much non-existent, dialog and scenes are repeated for no real reason, to be honest it’s just one big mess. I was surprised James Franco even did this film, his character Alien was pretty much a crap wana-be rip off of Gary Oldman’s Drexel in True Romance, now that was a brilliant performance!

Possible the only good thing about this film was the soundtrack which has some good tunes.

Honestly the film felt like someone opened up a teenage boys head and poured it out onto film, boobs, guns and extreme use of the word “y’all” is all this films about. Personally I’d say stay clear of this film like it was the plague. And it’s a shame because I wanted to like it I really did.

Oh and please don’t listen to people who are calling this film “This generation’s Fight Club”!! Really?

Rating 1/10

By Fiaz Ali

Leave a Reply

