The On-going Discussion Of What’s Better

Apple Vs Samsung

A few weeks ago Samsung announced their latest smartphone (The galaxy S4) which features;

  • A 5” Full HD Super AMOLED capacitive touchscreen
  • Slimmer body (7.9mm)
  • 13 MP Camera
  • Running Android OS, v4.2.2 (Jelly Bean)
  • Air view (The technology to use the screen without actually touching it)
  • Optical reader (The technology to Recognise information. E.g taking a picture of a card with contact information on it and it going straight into your address book without having the need to manually type in the information.)
  • Group play (using multiple phones as speakers to play songs and playing games with friends in real time.)
  • S translator
  • As well as other features.

So now the reason for this rant is because of the argument that has been the topic of conversation at some point in the last few years which is; what’s better iPhone or Android.

Let’s honestly look at the facts here, what are the minimum features of a phone? Of course it has to be able to make calls and send text messages. Then the phone evolved and incorporated internet browsing as well as a camera. Now-a-days a phone has to have the ability to make calls, send text messages, browse the internet and take pictures at the very least, everything else is a gimmick.

Some of the gimmicks that have been featured in Mobile phone or “Smart phones” in the past few years have been;

  • Apps
  • Siri
  • iCloud
  • iChat
  • Facetime
  • S beam
  • Eye tracking software
  • And many more

Do we need Siri? Do we need eye tracking software? No not at all, but they are gimmicks, something which people see and say “hey that’s cool”.

Now no one is denying the success of the iPhone, but a lot of their success is based on “fan boys and girls” people who will literally buy anything Apple puts out. Honestly Apple can make iPhone 5s or iPhone 6 as crap as they want and people will still buy it. Apple can make the next iPhone with the specs of The Nokia 7210 Supernova and I guaran-damn-tee it will sell.

Since the launch of the S4 I’ve talked to a few people and they still swore that the iPhone 5 is better. Seriously?

As far as I’m concerned iPhone will always be successful as long as they have “Fan boys and girls”. But honestly if you look at the evolution of the mobile phone Samsung is in the lead. Apple hasn’t made that much of a big change simply because they don’t have to in order to sell their latest phone. It’s quite sad to see people who can’t appreciate technology.

Before anyone says I’m biased, I owned Apple products before switching to Android and I only switched because the phone was BETTER. I owned iPhone 3gs, iPhone 4 and iPhone 4s for a short while. I now currently own a Galaxy S2.

One thing (Off topic) that I absolutely loved about Android was the fact that I wasn’t forced to use iTunes to put content on my phone. I can literally put anything I want on MY phone, which is how it should be.

Am I going to buy the new Galaxy S4? No I’m not going to buy it (It’s damn expensive!) but I’ll get it as an upgrade when my time comes. However I appreciate what they are doing, if Apple brought out a phone that was better than Samsung I would say it’s better. However the difference between iPhone 4s and 5 is not that much.

Rant Over

By Fiaz Ali

One comment on “The On-going Discussion Of What’s Better

  1. It’s all a matter of preference, which phone suits the users needs and lastly, opinion. The problem with Apple and Samsung Fanboys is that they fail to realise this. I’ve had my fair share of other phones including Samsung/Blackberry and just recently picked the the AWESOME HTC One but I use the iPhone simply because it suits my needs better than all the other phones and this is mainly down to the software/apps the iPhone has access too. Preferential needs I know, but Apple have the best User interface in terms of “ease” and this makes simple tasks very quick for me. In comparative Car terms, Apple are the “Bentley” and Samsung with Android are a souped/modified “Nissan Skyline” One is spells Class and one spells Performance.

    Don’t get me wrong, I’m willing to try other phones and OS (Hence the HTC One purchase) but ultimately it comes down to what I stated above about preference and opinion. Through preference comes loyalty, through loyalty comes fanboys and fanboys will never be willing to try anything different.

    But hey, this is just my opinion 🙂

Leave a Reply

